We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Voters from European Union Countries

European Union Flag

Citizens of European Union Countries living in the UK can vote in Local Elections and European Elections but not Parliamentary Elections.

(subject to a declaration that will not be voting in European Elections their home country)

For more details on European Union Citizens voting in European Elections in the United Kingdom please contact the Electoral Commission or the Local Elections Office as detailed on the "Register to Vote" page.

Local Elections include elections to a Local Council, The Welsh, Northern Ireland & London Assemblies, The Scottish Parliament and the election of a directly elected mayor.

As a result of the United Kingdom leaving the European Union, the government plans to end these rights, however currently they remain in force.

The government plans to replace these rights as part of the Elections Bill currently passing through parliament. The government's proposal would allow citizens of member states of the European Union with settled status to continue these rights.

Where an European Union citizen has arrived in the UK after 1st January 2021 and doesn't hold setlled status, the government's proposal would allow EU citizens to continue to vote and stand in local elections where the UK has negotiated reciprocal rights with their individual country.

You can read more at the Electoral Commision Website.

return to the main voting page @ www.windsorlibdems.org.uk

Commonwealth Countries within the European Union

Cyprus, Malta GC, United Kingdom

Other Countries within the European Union

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark

Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece

Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg

Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania

Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

Electors should check the information on this page with the Electoral Commission or their local Elections Office before acting on it - Page last revised September 2021