We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Tories vote down Windsor Town Council - Residents ask, "Why do the Tories Hate Windsor?"

July 20, 2021 9:06 PM
By Windsor Liberal Democrats in www.windsorlibdems.org.uk
Windsor Guildhall Townhall Berkshire (S Lowe)

The Lib Dems support a Windsor Town Council

Voting in council on Tuesday 20th July 2021 Windsor & Maidenhead Conservatives voted against giving Windsor its own Town Council.

Most parts of Windsor & Maidenhead have Town or Parish councils except Windsor and Central Maidenhead.

Conservative arguments tried to imply a Town Council would cost more, would create an unneccessary tier of government and create more councillors. They also tried to claim, despite a petition signed by thousands of Windsorians and consultation responses overwhelmingly in favour of setting up a Windsor Town Council that there wasn't public demand for a Windsor Town Council.

The most bizarre event of the evening was Cllr David Hilton (Conservative, Ascot & Sunninghill) being called to propose the motion for a town council, making it clear he opposed the creation of a Windsor Town Council and voting against his own motion. The proposal itself had come from a council committee with a Conservative majority.

"The only conclusion can be that the Conservatives opposed the creation of a Windsor Town Council for the simple fact they know that they are unpopular in Windsor and wouldn't win elections to such a town council. As Liberal Democrats we have proposed the creation of this Town Council for a decade, not for any party advantage, we simply believe it is the right thing to do." says local Lib Dem campaigner Julian Tisi.

In a named vote all the Conservatives present opposed the creation of a Windsor Town Council, whilst opposition councillors from every other party supported the introduction of more democracy to Windsor.

The councillors opposing a Windsor Town Council were:

  • Christine Bateson, Conservative - Suningdale & Cheapside*

  • Gurpreet Bhangra, Conservative - Maidenhead, Boyn Hill

  • John Bowden, Conservative - Windsor, Eton & Castle*

  • David Cannon, Conservative - Datchet, Horton & Wraysbury*

  • Gerry Clark, Conservative - Bisham & Cookham*

  • David Coppinger - Bray*

  • Phil Hasler, Conservative - Maidenhead, Cox Green*

  • David Hilton, Conservative - Ascot & Sunninghill*

  • Maureen Hunt, Conservative - Hurley & Walthams*

  • Andrew Johnson, Conservative - Hurley & Walthams*

  • Greg Jones, Conservative - Maidenhead Riverside

  • Sayanora Luxton, Conservative - Sunningdale & Cheapside*

  • Ross McWilliams, Conservative - Maidenhead, Cox Green*

  • Gary Muir, Conservative - Datchet, Horton & Wraysbury*

  • Samantha Rayner, Conservative - Windsor, Eton & Castle*

  • Julian Sharpe, Conservative - Ascot & Sunninghill*

  • Donna Stimson, Conservative - St Mary's

  • John Storey, Conservative - Ascot & Sunninghill*

  • Chris Targowski, Conservative - Maidenhead Riverside

  • Leo Walters, Conservative - Bray*

*Councillors representing wards which have parish councils.

Notably Windsor Conservative Councillors Samantha Rayner & John Bowden who represent Windsor - Eton & Castle voted against Windsor Town Council, despite also representing Eton & Eton Wick which have a Town Council. Cllr Rayner famously lives in Colnbrook, which is in Slough Borough Council.

Councillors Voting for a Windsor Town Council

  • John Baldwin, Liberal Democrat - Maidenhead, Belmont

  • Clive Baskerville, Liberal Democrat - Maidenhead, Pinkney's Green

  • Simon Bond, Liberal Democrat - Maidenhead, Belmont

  • Mandy Brar, Liberal Democrat - Bisham & Cookham*

  • Karen Davies, Liberal Democrat - Windsor, Clewer East

  • Gurch Singh, Liberal Democrat - Maidenhead, St Mary's

  • Amy Tisi, Liberal Democrat - Windsor, Clewer East

  • Lynne Jones, Old Windsor Residents' Association - Old Windsor & Windsor Boltons*

  • Neil Knowles, Old Windsor Residents' Association - Old Windsor & Windsor Boltons*

  • Carole Da Costa, West Windsor Residents' Association - Windsor, Clewer & Dedworth East

  • Wisdom Da Costa, West Windsor Residents' Association - Windsor, Clewer & Dedworth West

  • Jon Davey, West Windsor Residents' Association - Windsor, Clewer & Dedworth West

  • Geoffrey Hill, The Borough First - Maidenhead, Oldfield

  • Helen Price, The Borough First - Windsor, Clewer & Dedworth East

  • Ewan Larcombe, National Flood Prevention Party - Datchet, Horton & Wraysbury*